Fitchburg Trail Guides


The Fitchburg Trail Guide (June, 2018) was a collaborative effort of an ad hoc subcommittee of the Fitchburg Greenway Committee, known as the Fitchburg Trails Vision Committee. We have been working on this effort since Fall, 2016. Documents describing our purpose and goals, our methodologies, and indicating the endorsement of our effort by the City of Fitchburg may be found at

Trail Guide Cover

Pick Up a Copy of the Fitchburg Trail Guide at these convenient Locations:

  • Fitchburg Recreation Department
  • Coggshall Park Stone House
  • Fitchburg Community Development
  • Fitchburg Public Library
  • Johnny Appleseed Visitors' Information Center
  • Fitchburg Historical Society

Detailed Trail Descriptions & Maps

Trails Descriptions Descripciones (ESP) Maps
1. Coggshall Park PDF PDF PDF
2. Coolidge Park Loop Trail PDF PDF PDF
3. Crocker Conservation Area LINK PDF LINK
4. Flat Rock Wildlife Sanctuary PDF PDF PDF
5. Northern Watershed PDF PDF PDF
6. Parkhill Park Trail PDF PDF PDF
7. Rollstone Hill & Rock Walk Trail PDF PDF PDF
8. Sheldon Street Gateway Park PDF PDF PDF
9. Steamline Park Trail PDF PDF PDF
10. Twin Cities Rail Trail (Coming Soon) PDF PDF Coming Soon

For more information about the Fitchburg Trails Vision Committee and its meetings please contact the Recreation Department at or call 978-829-1815.

We would like to acknowledge and express our gratitude for the assistance of Madison Whitten, intern and Kayla Kress, GIS Specialist with the Montachusett Regional Planning Commission. The Mass DOT furnished funding to support MRPC's efforts on the guide. We are also grateful to the City of Fitchburg Dept. of Planning and Community Development for providing funding to pay for printing the guide. The non-organizational members volunteered their time to this effort.

Vision Committee Members:

  • Ralph Baker, Chair
  • Neal Anderson
  • Sheri Bean, Montachusett Regional Planning Commission
  • Jassy Bratko, North County Land Trust
  • Larry Casassa
  • Amy LeBlanc, City of Fitchburg Department of Planning and Community Development
  • Nate LaRose, City of Fitchburg Parks and Recreation Department
  • Dick O'Brien
  • Jenn Tuomala